How Many Types of IQ Tests Are There?

It’ll be hard to find a person who has never heard of IQ tests. It’s thought that the types of IQ tests discussed below are the most accurate examination strategy for determining our psychology, and every one of us needs to sit for at least one IQ test in our lives. Most of the major examinations of life have a separate section for determining our IQ. 

Then again, it’s not uncommon to acknowledge the IQ of different scientists and inventors, and in some cases, we even compare our IQ with theirs’. 

Even though it’s a very common aspect of our life, most of us don’t know how many types of IQ tests there are. This is one of the reasons why we don’t understand this properly. 

Today, we’ll talk about the types of IQ tests there are, and more! So, let’s get started, shall we?

Woodcock-Johnson Tests of Cognitive Abilities:

The Woodcock-Johnson Tests of Cognitive Abilities was developed way back in 1977, but it has been revised twice later on. The last revision occurred in 2001, and from then, it’s being called WJ-III. This IQ test is very comprehensive, as it can be used to measure many abilities of a human being. For example, this IQ test can measure scholastic aptitude, cognitive abilities, linguistics, academic achievements, and more. 

Then again, this IQ test isn’t for a certain section or group of people. Even toddlers who are two years of age can take this test, and aged people of 99 years can sit for this test as well. This makes it a universal test overall. 

There is a total of thirteen tests in this, and each of them is quite short. 

Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scale:

Unlike the Woodcock-Johnson Tests of Cognitive Abilities test, the Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scale isn’t as comprehensive. This is comparatively shallower amongst the different types of IQ tests, and it deals with the cognitive abilities only. 

The Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scale was developed back in 1916, which also makes it a much older scale and IQ test for today. However, that doesn’t mean that it’s flawed or ineffective. In fact, it’s one of the most used IQ tests to date, and it’s so widely used because it can be used to measure the intelligence of different types of groups effectively. 

Then again, this test is being used for both children and the elderly, as it provides enough materials to test both of these groups. Another amazing fact about this test is that it can be taken through a computer as well, other than simple handwritten exams. This makes this test available for online examination. 

Cognitive Assessment System:

Unlike the previous two types of IQ tests, the Cognitive Assessment System is only for children and adolescents. Children can sit for this test once they become five years of age, and adolescents up to 17 years can sit for this exam. 

The Cognitive Assessment System was developed for determining the ability to plan, pay attention, and perform successive cognitive processes. The Cognitive Assessment System, or CAS in short, was developed in 1975, and it went through some revisions later on. 

The plus-point of this theory is that it’s well-researched and it’s effective. This is why it’s one of the most common IQ tests that we see now. 

Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale:

The Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale is an IQ test that’s great at determining the cognitive ability of a person, and it can also determine and analyze the intelligence of the examinee. The idea and the very first form of this IQ test were first put forth in 1955, and it was actually a revision of the then-standard intelligence scale. 

However, this IQ test has undergone multiple revisions, and now we use the fourth version of this IQ test. The fourth and final revision was made back in 2008, and from then till now, it’s been the most used IQ test among all the different types of IQ tests. 

This IQ test focuses on four basic elements. These are verbal comprehension, perceptual reasoning, working memory, and processing speed. However, this IQ test isn’t designed for kids. Only adolescents from 16 years of age to elders aged 90 years can take this test. 

Universal Nonverbal Intelligence Test:

The Universal Nonverbal Intelligence Test is a test that’s designed to determine the non-verbal intelligence of kids and adolescents. Individuals aged 5-17 can take this exam, and this exam boasts great accuracy when it comes to determining the non-verbal intelligence of a person. 

The Universal Nonverbal Intelligence Test is known as UNIT as well, and this exam consists of six subsets. The aspects that UNIT deals with are spatial memory, symbolic memory, object memory, cube design, mazes, and analogic reasoning. 

This is a great alternative to the other types of IQ tests, and it’s especially useful if the subject cannot speak or communicate verbally. 

Kaufman Assessment Battery for Children:

The Kaufman Assessment Battery for Children, also known as KABC, is a type of IQ test that’s being used for assessing the cognitive abilities of children for years. This IQ test was first put forth back in 1983, and it was later revised in 2004. This IQ test has later been translated to many other languages, including Japanese. 

Other than understanding the cognitive abilities only, the Kaufman Assessment Battery for Children also focuses on groups that are somewhat disabled, minority, or ethnic groups, and also the groups with learning disabilities. This is why it’s considered one of the most versatile among the many types of IQ tests. 

A total of 18 aspects are focused on in this, and these tests are divided into two subsets. One of the subsets is the core, while the other is supplementary. 


There are different types of IQ tests in practice, and not all of them are perfect. However, if the right IQ test can be pointed out for a specific individual or a group of people, then it is possible to determine their intelligence and cognitive abilities accurately.

Leave a Comment